- · All the usual school supplies, including calculators and art supplies, without limit.
- · All clothing, footwear, underwear, coats and jackets, swimsuits, up to $100 per item.
- · Diapers, disposable and non-disposable.
- · Jewelry, handbags, briefcases, sunglasses, accessories, hair notions, cosmetics, up to $50 per item.
- · Wedding apparel, up to $100 per item.
Tuesday, July 29, 2014
Heads Up! Arkansas State Sales Tax Holiday August 2-3 Only
It's that time of year again. Everyone, whether you have a child in school or not, can purchase a multitude of items without paying sales tax this weekend. The offer is good for only two days. If you want best selection without a crowd, you can start at 12:01 a.m. on Saturday (actually Friday night at midnight). The 48-hour sales tax ‘holiday’ ends at 11:59 p.m. Sunday, August 3.
This is the third year Arkansas has declared this sales tax holiday. The tax break has been a welcome savings for Arkansans.
Here are the basics of what you need to know…
The sales tax holiday is primarily meant for back-to-school supplies and clothing. However, the categories are so broad, people from all walks of life can avail themselves for two days of buying without sales tax added on.
All Arkansas retailers are required by law to observe the sales tax holiday. This includes the University of Arkansas bookstores.
Here’s a partial list of eligible purchases:
Get your shopping lists prepared. This bonanza will not be back for a whole year!
Rules, lists of eligible and non-eligible items, and examples are available here: